Don’t Drive Yourself to the Breaking Point

Okay, it’s no secret that I really enjoy Nutella. And ice cream. And pudding. And pancakes. And friend dough at the fair. I love all of these things with a steamy, hot, melting passion. And I will never give them up for anything – unless I developed some allergy that was really life threatening. 

But if you know me at all, you also know I LOVE eating food on the healthier side. I eat a lot of vegetarian and vegan options – although I am neither. I love eating fresh organic fruits and veggies and the nutty, seedy taste of whole grain breads. I’m very anti-packaging and processed foods and I like to know what I’m putting in my body.

I also love yoga. I love walking and hiking. I love dancing. I’ll even do a little kick-boxing if I’m feeling adventurous. But I hate, hate, hate, the fitness world on the internet.

As someone who struggled with eating disorders, I’m no stranger to the world of “thinspo” and “pro-ana/mia” websites. And now that’s kind of bled into the “fitspo” side of things. Guess what? It’s just as bad. Showing a picture of a naturally thin girl with a toned, flat stomach who probably has an extremely fast metabolism and is 15 years old, and adding the caption “perfect stomach” is NOT what I think should be inspiration of any kind. My body will never look like that. I have natural curves to my hips and a natural layer of fat on my stomach that just doesn’t go away. And you know what, I really don’t feel the need for major abs. I’m twenty-two years old. I may be having kids in the next 10 years and I want that protection for my baby (did you know that women actually have that special layer that many women call a “pooch” specifically for that reason?). 

Regardless of the future of my motherhood, I don’t think these types of pictures are sending a good message. It’s telling girls that not only is THAT image beautiful and desirable, but that it’s “fit” and “healthy”. When you don’t know what’s going on in that girl’s body. She could do hundreds of crunches a day to get those abs but eat junk or not eat at all. You don’t know what her lifestyle is like, her hormone levels, her vitamin levels, her internal health. Hell, her emotional and mental health could be out of whack too.

We have to remember, as women, to support one another in emphasizing and advancing the importance of WHOLE HEALTH. Not just how toned your stomach is, but how you feel when you wake up in the morning. How you relate to your friends, if you feel alive on a day to day basis and appreciate all that your body does, not just what it looks like or is “supposed” to look like. 

So I’ll leave you with some “fitspo”: How do you feel, inside, after eating that healthy breakfast and going for a calming walk or sweating it out at the gym? Good? Don’t look in the mirror. Don’t obsesses over those little pieces you don’t like about yourself. DO YOU FEEL GOOD? 

 

Have a beautiful day, xx.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

