Keeping Your Chin Up in Hard $$$$$ Times.

I should say, lack of $$$$$. But regardless…

 

I’ve had several post topics in mind for a few days but I decided today to go with one that is different than the rest, but still very important to discuss. And this is one where I’d really love feedback from anyone who is reading and may be in the same situation.

I’m a college student who is, luckily, not in the position where I have to pay rent or for food. I have a wonderful extended family who has taken me in for free. I work a small part time job that pays minimum wage and I really only work weekends because I commute to school and it’s just too much. 

I also have credit card bills. 

And lots of money due this month.

Okay, it’s not thousands of dollars, but it’s a couple hundred more than I have in my checking account. And I’m not working this weekend because of the blizzard. 

So what now? How do I stay calm through all this? How do I make it work? 

This week in Gabby’s May Cause Miracles is all about “Raise Your Self-Worth, Raise Your Net-Worth”. Fitting, no? Clearly the universe is trying to tell me something by laying my financial problems on me THIS WEEK. But I’m still struggling with it. I do feel a little better. I do realize that I have all the money that I need. And when I need it, I’ll get it. But it’s so hard to keep that mindset when the actual numbers just don’t add up. I’ve never had to pay less than full on my credit cards, and the idea that I would have to…scares me. 

Why? Why does it? 

Because I’m afraid that I’m a failure if I don’t pay the full. I’m afraid it’ll look bad on my credit score. I’m afraid I’ll disappoint my mom if she finds out. ALL OF THESE THINGS ARE FEAR BASED BULLSHIT. It’s my fucking ego talking at me in stupid terms and LIES. And I didn’t really understand it fully until I just sat here typing it out. So today, I’m going to meditate on gratitude. I’m going to forgive myself for having these fears surrounding money. I’m going to pay a bit more than the minimum due on my card and move on with my life. 

Sure, I’m going to curb my spending even more than I already have. And maybe even cut up one of my credit cards. But I won’t cut up my well-being. I won’t let this one incident RULE my life. 

Can you please stick with me and say the same?

Tell me in the comments: What do you do when financial times get rough? Is it simply numbers? Do you invite spirit or God or your ~ing to intervene and give you a lift? I want to hear from you. 

Have a beautiful day, xx.

Leave a Reply

