Lessons In BabyGap

I wrote this post, and then lost it. It was beautiful and fantastic and the fact that I lost it makes me want to CRY. But I guess it happened for a reason, right? So here we go, round two.

If you don’t know, I work at the Gap. Usually, in BabyGap. And I absolutely adore it.

Long story short (after losing my first copy of this I’m way too lazy to write out the ENTIRE post again, apologies), the children always bring me back to earth about what is real and beautiful in life. Almost daily, a mother or father or couple will come in with a young child, either an infant or a little one under the age of 7 or 8. And every now and then he or she will be a real gem.

It’s rare that I ever find a truly shy child. Most of the time, they come in and smile at me, and we immediately get to playing games while their parent(s) shop. They try to hide, I pretend that I can’t find them. One time, a grandmother had to return to her car and left her grandson in my care. I was working in GapKids that day. And he stood with me at the register and we talked. I asked him what he wanted for Christmas, he told me about what he was buying for his big sister. It was as if we were old friends or cousins.

Peek-a-boo is the most basic children’s game and it never fails to entertain. I used to wonder why, but I no longer do. It’s quite simple. Children can’t fathom that a person can simply hide. They don’t understand that someone can mask a part of themselves from someone. They believe in the goodness and truth of a human being. So the idea that you haven’t just disappeared and you’re, in fact, being false, doesn’t occur to them. And it isn’t because they aren’t educated, it’s because they aren’t tainted by the falsehoods of the world around them. They’re quite pure in that way and they are what we all should strive to be more like.

My favorite experience, by far was this next one. I was working in BabyGap, but I crossed over to Kids’ for a moment. Two girls around the age of 7 or 8 were leaving with their mother. And saying goodbye to everyone they passed. They saw me come in and said “Bye pretty girl!” I said goodbye. One shouted “I love you!” and the other said “I love you too!”

And their mother just laughed, maybe a little embarrassed. But I was touched. And they probably did love me. And I assured them I loved them too. Because of course I do. Why can’t we say I love you to everyone we pass by? Why?

Have a beautiful day, xx.

Leave a Reply

