Influenster Review: 2012 College VoxBox

I’m a part of influenster, which is a great forum for product reviews and promotion. They are involved heavily with social media and all kinds of products from beauty, to office, to snacks and other goodies! I was selected to receive the 2012 College VoxBox last month and I decided to share with you all the items I was able to test and what I thought about all of them. So, here goes!

ImPress Press-On Manicure

“The Revolutionary new way to apply polish!”

The packaging is cute, a little plastic polish-type bottle filled with fake nails in beautiful pre-manicured designs. The application is easy: Simply find your size, prep your nails, peel off the plastic and stick on! No messy glue, no filing off tabs at the tips of the nails. They apply easily and last several days if you don’t work with your hands too much.

I, however, work in retail so I’m working with my hands all the time. My nails lasted about 4-5 days (they advertise “up to a week”) and I ended up peeling them off. Some cons: they’re softer than your usual Broadway or Everlast nails so they tend to bend a little bit. Although the stick-on method is simpler and less messy, it also doesn’t provide much of a hold. It would also be nice if they came in petite sizes (not sure if they do!). 

Bottom Line: Great for a special event but I don’t think I’ll buy them very often. 

Cost: $5.99 for colors and $7.99 for patterns

NYC Show Time Glitter Eye-Liner Pencil

%100 LOVE. I don’t really have cons about this product so I’ll say, I’m a big fan of eyeliner. Sometimes I like color, sometimes I don’t. This color was a dark black with some silver sparkle and it was fabulous. It’s just enough of a shine to wear to work during the holidays. I do a top-lid line with a tiny tiny wing and the pencil glides on very smoothly and doesn’t dull too fast. The color stays on for my work day and comes off cleanly with makeup remover at the end of the night. 

Bottom line: I want one in every color.

Price: $2.49 per pencil.

Necco Tropical Wafers

YUMMY. I love these. They’re great for a little sugar crunch and I couldn’t stop munching on these delicious flavors. My mom loves Necco Wafers and she loved these too. I don’t love all the flavors (Coconut) but that’s just a personal preference! The selection is a grea throwback to summer vacations – nice in the deep fall and winter days!

Bottom Line: I’m not much of a candy gal, but if I saw these on the shelf or at the movies, I’d grab ’em.

Price: $1.25 per roll, $24.00 per box. 

Pentel EnerGel-X Campaign

A Beautiful liquid gel pen from Pentel. I got this in a great purple color. I watched my usual Super Soul Sunday and took notes with it for a few hours. Never did it falter or dry up. It kept me writing quickly and smoothly so I could get down all the words of wisdom. 

Bottom Line: As a writer, I appreciate good pens. And this is a great pen. And for the quality, the price is right.

Price: $1.90 per pen

Energy Sheets

Okay, this was difficult. I don’t take in caffeine as a rule. I drink tea in the morning, which is a little bit of caffeine. But I don’t drink coffee on a regular basis. These sheets advertise that they have the affect of 1 cup of coffee per 2 sheets. They taste like breath sheets and dissolve in your mouth. Nice minty taste too! I had one on my way to work, I was feeling quite tired and hadn’t had my tea. By the time I got started, I didn’t feel anything, so I had another one. THEN I felt it. I was actually quite jittery, however and didn’t love it. However, this could just be a personal event. If you’re more used to caffeine, you could take it!

Bottom Line: Not for me, but they’re good for some!

Price: $5.95 for a pack of 10 sheets. 

There you have it! My short, but honest, reviews of the 2012 College VoxBox from Influenster. Hope that it’s been a little entertaining! 

Leave a Reply

