Minor Miracle Setbacks

The truth is, it isn’t easy to change your mindset all in a few months. You can read the books, do the work, practice the prayers and meditations. But there are going to be setbacks. I had one of my own this week, I had to really plug in to my practice and the universe in order to re-evaluate the situation.

I’m have a part-time job at the Gap in a neighboring town. I’m taking a semester off from school, but I’m going back in January. I live with family and I don’t have to pay rent or for food, which is an amazing set up. But around the holidays, my co-workers increase and my hours decrease. So, yes, my paychecks have literally been cut nearly in HALF. And I had a minor freak out.

“I just set up my budget and now I can’t make it.” 

“I have no self-control over spending money.”

“I suck at saving anything more than a few dollars a month.”

All of these and more negative, fear-oriented thoughts FLOODED my brain. And I went crazy trying to figure out how to make a little extra money so I can have all the things I think I need and be successful in my life. 

And this morning, after days of considering the MOST ridiculous options (it’s embarrassing, so I won’t get into it!), I finally had a breakthrough. I remembered once again that MONEY ISN’T EVERYTHING. And what I can GET is NEVER going to be as good as what I can GIVE. 

MONEY will not make me HAPPY. MONEY will not make me SATISFIED in my personal life. THESE THINGS are not the answer. And now I’ve come home again, back to my place of love and giving and peace. I’ve accepted and forgiven myself for my fearful thoughts and I’m changing them into something I can really believe in. 

“I have a budget for a reason, and I can follow it.”

“I think hard about my purchases and use my money wisely.”

“I save up as much money as I need each month.”

 

Have a beautiful day. xx.

 

Leave a Reply

